Johnny Winter

The legendary rocker and blues statesman Johnny Winter will forever continue to enthrall his millions of fans the world over. With his unique brand of blues/rock guitar and vocal prowess, Winter’s style is truly unmatched in purity and artistry which will never be duplicated.

As the late blues rocker toured non-stop, it’s no secret that his live performances are truly legendary. Fortunately for his huge fan base, Johnny captured a lot of his concerts and rare studio sessions on tape over his many decades, which proudly leads us to the colossal Johnny Winter deluxe set Remembrance Volume 1.

For Johnny Winter’s Remembrance Volume 1, the sorely missed artist surely shares some incredibly rare guitar shredding live performances. These 3 amazing CD’s feature a large selection of the late artist’s archived recordings from his Billboard Blues charting Live Bootleg Series, (Disc 1), the first time CD release of his rare vinyl Live Bootleg Special Edition (Disc 2) and more unreleased treasures from his new series Live Rarities (Disc 3). The blues wielding axeman steps out with super-extended workouts on concert classics like his masterful version of Freddie King’s Hideaway, Chuck Berry’s Johnny B. Goode, The Rolling Stones’ Jumpin’ Jack Flash and newly discovered rare performances of Mean Town Blues, Sound the Bell and Ray Charles’ Come Back Baby.

Always paying homage to his fellow bluesmen, Johnny dug far back into his archives for super rare performances of the stellar Muddy Waters’ classic Rollin’ and Tumblin’ (acoustic version) and the jump blues of Elmore James’ Stranger Blues, Robert Johnson’s blues champion Crossroads, and B.B. King’s brilliant Mean Mistreater.

As a continuing gift to his fans, Johnny includes first time live archive releases of The Surfaris’ Wipe Out, Chuck Berry’s Christmas classic Run Rudolph Run and Howlin’ Wolf’s stellar Killing Floor.

Friday Music is very honored to be the home of Johnny Winter’s Remembrance Volume 1. As with our previous releases, they are totally produced, authorized, owned and controlled by Johnny Winter.

In addition to the hard rockin’ blues on this wonderful collection, this limited edition compact disc collection will be presented in a stunning fold-out digi-pak with appreciations from Edgar Winter, Gregg Allman and Joe Reagoso.

Remembrance Volume 1 by Johnny Winter… 3 colossal compact discs filled with pure Texan blues power, courtesy of the legendary Johnny Winter and Friday Music. Rock and Roll!!!


Johnny Winter – Remembrance Volume 1 (Original Live Recordings Remastered/Limited Edition/3 CD)

Label: Friday Music
Release: 13 January 2015

Disc 1: The Best of the Live Bootleg Series

1. Introduction
2. Sen-Sa-Shun
3. Messin’ With the Kid
4. Mean Mistreater
5. Boot Hill
6. Stranger Blues
7. You Keep Sayin’ That You’re Leaving
8. One Step at a Time
9. Crossroads
10. Rollin’ and Tumblin’ (acoustic version)

Disc 2: Live Bootleg Special Edition(first time release on CD)

1. Hideaway
2. Ain’t That Just Like a Woman
3. Johnny B. Goode
4. Serious as a Heart Attack
5. Stranger
6. Jumping Jack Flash

Disc 3: Live Rarities 1(previously unreleased)

1. Mean Town Blues
2. Sound the Bell
3. Killing Floor
4. Mississippi Blues
5. Run Rudolph Run
6. The Crawl
7. Wildwood Flower
8. Wipe Out
9. Come Back Baby

Ook op Blues Magazine ...