Jimmy LaFave Night Tribe

Jimmy LaFave set to release his latest studio album “The Night Tribe” on May 12, 2015

The release includes 13 tracks recorded at Cedar Creek Recording in Austin, TX. The Night Tribe title is a reference to the name LaFave has used for his touring band over the years.

Jimmy LaFave’s self-produced album captures the varied moods and musings of an accomplished folk/Americana artist known for possessing what critic Dave Marsh has called “one of America’s greatest voices.”

The Night Tribe is a thoughtful, finely nuanced album that expresses the world through the eyes and voice of a tribesman traveling the roads of earth — from the splendour of a Colorado pine forest to the soulful vibe of Memphis to the loves and losses of fellow travelers.

Explaining the term’s origin, LaFave says, “In Oklahoma, you hear the word tribe a lot because of all the different Indian tribes, and I thought, ‘What tribe of people am I part of?’ It was always the night people.” After reactivating the Night Tribe name for a recent European tour, he decided he wanted to do something thematic with it. “And that is when I write most of my songs,” he adds. “Almost all the songs on the record were written at nighttime, driving.”

Jimmy LaFave
The Night Tribe

Label: Music Road Records
Release: 12 May 2015


1 The Beauty Of You 5:26
2 Maybe 5:24
3 Journey Through The Past 5:01
4 It’s Not On Me 3:31
5 Trying To Get Back To You 3:35
6 Talk To An Angel 4:01
7 Queen Jane Approximately 5:45
8 Island 3:20
9 The Night Tribe 3:55
10 Never Came Back To Memphis 3:05
11 Smile 3:52
12 Dust Bowl Okies 4:37
13 The Roads Of The Earth 3:42