Jimmie Vaughan Trio & Mike Flanigin
Live At C-Boy’s

When Jimmie Vaughan isn’t out fronting his big “Tilt-A-Whirl” band, there’s nothing he likes more than grooving in this fine trio at C-Boy’s Heart and Soul in his hometown of Austin, Texas.

These very cool recordings – oozing with the late-night club atmosphere of Steve Wertheimer’s gem on South Congress Avenue – perfectly capture Mike Flanigin’s mastery of the mighty Hammond B3 and Frosty Smith’s attentive drumming which form the bedrock for Jimmie to lay down some of that trademark peckin’ guitar.

Jimmie Vaughan’s style as a player, songwriter and bandleader can be thought of as an amalgamation of so many influences. Known for his deceptively simple yet complex attack, his clean, uncluttered style capitalizes on conveying the emotion and message within the music, He utilizes raw emotion, simplicity, and an elegance that is powerful and accessible, yet communicates exactly what he feels inside. It’s an approach that has earned him the respect of many of the greats of contemporary music, and guest appearances on such albums as B.B. King and Eric Clapton’s Riding With The King, Bob Dylan’s Under The Red Sky, Willie Nelson’s Milk Cow Blues, Carlos Santana’s Havana Moon and Don Henley’s Inside Job.

Jimmie Vaughan Trio Mike Flanigin Live At C-Boys

Jimmie Vaughan Trio & Mike Flanigin – Live At C-Boy’s

Format: CD / LP
Label: Proper Records
Release date: 19 May 2017

1. You Can’t Sit Down
2. Hey! Baby
3. Can’t Buy Me Love
4. Saint James Infirmary
5. Come on Rock Little Girl
6. Dirty Work at the Crossroads
7. Frame for the Blues
8. Cleo Mood

Ook op Blues Magazine ...