Just in time for the holiday season, Hamilton Loomis releases his first-ever Christmas album, ‘This Season’. With covers of five Yuletide classics and five originals destined to become seasonal classics, the album offers something for everyone. “When I was a kid,” he recalls, “my mom always had Christmas records playing in the house from November on. There’s such a great tradition of Christmas albums across just about every genre of music. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do, and when I started writing these new songs I realized this was the time to do it.”

Loomis not only shows off his songwriting and musical chops here, but his production skills are also on deft display as originals and classics seamlessly blend together to create an almost-perfect holiday vibe. Originals like celebratory title track and the upbeat “Everything I Wanted” are perfect examples of the vintage funky soul blues Loomis has been playing worldwide for over two decades. The tongue-in cheek holiday humor of “Another South Texas Christmas” and the timeless grooves of “Underneath The Tree” and “Christmas Tears,” set a perfect pace, interspersed with an array of covers from a sizzling take on “Run Rudolph Run” that arguably out-rocks every version of it that’s come before, to a soulful spin on “Lay Around And Love On You” that echoes vintage Stevie Wonder.

And with bluesy workouts of “Christmas Tears” and “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen,” and a solemn, solo acoustic version of “O Holy Night” to close it out, This Season is a musical Whitman’s Sampler not to be missed this – or any – holiday season.

1. This Season
2. Lay Around And Love
3. Everything I Wanted
4. Another South Texas Christmas
5. Underneath The Tree
6. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
7. Christmas Tears
8. Run Rudolph Run
9. Love Again Christmas
10. O Holy Night

Hamilton Loomis – This Season
Releasedate: 02 December 2019


Ook op Blues Magazine ...