Gwyn Ashton is een beul van een gitarist, wiens muziek zich begeeft op de scheidslijn van hard rock en blues. Op Radiogram wordt hij terzijde gestaan door een keur aan topmuzikanten. Met name Fabulous Thunderbird Kim Wilson’s mondharmonica geeft deze CD een rootsy uitstraling, hoewel het ook nu weer het fenomenale gitaarspel van Ashton is en het gemak waarmee hij catchy liedjes uit zijn mouw schudt, dat Radiogram ver uit tilt boven de muziek van zijn soortgenoten.


Gwyn Ashton – New Album Radiogram
Out October 22nd on Fab Tone Records

Aussie guitar maestro Gwyn Ashton’s back with Radiogram, a hard-driving renegade rock and blues album heaving with hook-laden, catchy songs and killer riffs.

Fretted and slide guitar wiz Ashton was previously voted third place as “Guitarist of The Year” by French readers of Guitar Part magazine, behind Jeff Beck and Gary Moore at number one and two. Italian company Liutart has recently released the Gwyn Ashton signature model guitar, designed to his own specifications.

Radiogram boasts nine self-penned tracks plus a phat groove version of Willie Dixon’s “I Just Wanna Make Love To You” with the Ashton trademark stamped all over it. This feast of electric blues, heavy funk and melodic rock has been inspired by his well-worn vinyl record collection and sounds like it could have been recorded in 1971. Old-school retro is in and nobody does it better.

The rhythm section on Radiogram features Ashton (also on bass) along with stalwart drummer Kev Hickman, who has been the backbone of Ashton’s European touring duo for the past three years. The diverse guest artist roster includes Don Airey (Deep Purple, Rainbow, Whitesnake, Black Sabbath), Kim Wilson (Fabulous Thunderbirds), Robbie Blunt (Robert Plant, Bronco, Silverhead), Johnny Mastro (LA’s Mama’s Boys), Mark Stanway (Magnum, Phil Lynott) and Mo Birch (UB40, Go West, Culture Club). Radiogram was recorded in England, mixed in LA by Lost Prophets’ producer Justin Hopfer and mastered in Australia by Don Bartley, who was recently commissioned by EMI to re-master the audiophile version of Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band.

Radiogram is the follow-up to 2009’s Two-Man Blues Army. Dixiefrog released Prohibition in 2006 with guests Chris Glen, Ted McKenna (Sensational Alex Harvey Band, Ian Gillan, Rory Gallagher) and Don Airey. In 1999 Virgin France released Fang It! which was recorded with Rory Gallagher’s rhythm section – Gerry McAvoy and Brendan O’Neill. Ashton’s first two albums Feel The Heat and Beg, Borrow & Steel were recorded in Australia and released through Virgin France in 1997 and 1998. In 2000 Feel The Heat and Fang It! were simultaneously in the Amazon France Top 100 album charts. They also garnered Ashton European support slots with the likes of B.B. King, Johnny Winter, The Yardbirds, Mick Taylor, Peter Green and Status Quo.

Gwyn Ashton – RadiogramRadiogram track listing:
1: Little Girl – feat Kim Wilson
2: Don’t Wanna Fall – feat Mark Stanway, Mo Birch
3: Let Me In – feat Johnny Mastro
4: Fortunate Kind – feat Robbie Blunt, Mark Stanway, Mo Birch
5: I Just Wanna Make Love To You
6: Dog Eat Dog
7: Angel – Mark Stanway, Mo Birch
8: For Your Love – feat Don Airey
9: Comin’ Home
10: Bluz For Roy

View the video for lead single ‘Little Girl’

Ook op Blues Magazine ...