Sco-Mule, the collaboration between Gov’t Mule and John Scofield, will release their all-instrumental album from their noteworthy 1999 Georgia shows. The album, which features original Mule bassist Allen Woody along with keyboardist Dr. Dan Matrazzo, will also include newly mastered audio from the shows, which marked Mule’s first ever all-instrumental set.

In late September of 1999, John Scofield teamed with Gov’t Mule, then featuring original bass player the late Allen Woody, in Georgia for two legendary shows. These shows were recorded with the intention of it being a live release after the studio album Life before Insanity. After the passing of Woody, and the start of The Deep End project, those plans had been set aside. There are no audience recordings from these shows, so this will be the first time that anyone will be able to hear or relive what took place that night. Newly mixed and mastered, Sco-Mule features 2.5 hours of music and will be available as a 2-CD set and as a Double Vinyl Release.

The album will be available in a 2-CD set or double vinyl LP package.

GOV’T MULE – Sco-Mule

Track Listing:
1. Hottentot
2. Tom Thumb
3. Doing It To Death
4. Birth of the Mule
5. Sco-Mule
6. Kind of Bird
7. Pass the Peas (Bonus Track)
8. Devil Likes It Slow (Bonus Track)
9. Hottentot (Alternate Version) (Bonus Track)
10. Kind of Bird (Alternate Version) (Bonus Track)
11. Afro Blue (Bonus Track)
12. Spanish Moon (Pre-Order Bonus CD)
13. Tom Thumb (Pre-Order Bonus CD)
14. Freeway Jam (Pre-Order Bonus CD)

Info + pre-order via the band’s website

These months the band will release a series of archival recordings from their famed Halloween shows. Stoned Side of the Mule: Volume 1 is released as part of Record Store Day’s Black Friday Event on November 28th, presenting seven Rolling Stones covers from Halloween in 2009 at the Tower Theater in Philadelphia, PA.

Dark Side of the Mule, due out December 9, will feature 90 minutes of Pink Floyd covers recorded on Halloween 2008 at the Orpheum Theatre in Boston, MA.

Gov’t Mule will also release Dub Side of the Mule in early 2015, featuring a 45-minute set of reggae songs with special guest Toots Hibbert recorded live on New Year’s Eve 2006 at the Beacon Theatre in New York City. The release also includes appearances from Gregg Allman & Friends and John Popper.