Gov’t Mule - Heavy Load Blues

Gov’t Mule
Heavy Load Blues

Formats: CD / Deluxe Version / LP
Label: Fantasy Records
Release date: 12 November 2021

o.a. te bestellen bij

Gov’t Mule — the band led by Warren Haynes — will release a new album, Heavy Load Blues, on November 12 via Fantasy Records. The band are calling it their first-ever blues album, and it features a mix of Haynes originals and covers originally made famous by the likes of Howlin’ Wolf, Elmore James, Junior Wells, Ann Peebles, Bobby “Blue” Bland, Tom Waits and the Animals.

Listen to “Heavy Load”, the lead single from the new Gov’t Mule album Heavy Load Blues:

Gov't Mule - Heavy Load (Official Audio)


When released, Heavy Load Blues will mark the first time the band have dedicated an entire LP to the blues, with Haynes saying an extended exploration of the genre has “been on my list of things to do for years”.

“I didn’t know if it was gonna be a solo album or a Gov’t Mule record,” Haynes said in a statement. “We play some traditional blues on stage from time to time and although it’s usually never more than a few songs per show, our approach to the blues is unique and based on our collective chemistry as a band.

“This album gave us a mission,” he continued. “Although in some way it was, ‘Anything goes,’ we wanted to stay true to the spirit of the blues in a traditional sense. It’s not a blues/rock record – it’s a blues record. We wanted it sonically to sound different from a normal Gov’t Mule record.”

Watch a behind-the-scenes video documenting the making of Heavy Load Blues:

Gov't Mule - Making Heavy Load Blues


Despite being labelled as a studio album, Heavy Load Blues was in fact recorded live at The Power Station New England on analogue tape with the help of numerous vintage guitars and amps to capture a genuine blues tone.

13 tracks will be included as part of the album’s standard release, with eight more featuring on a souped-up Deluxe Version of Heavy Load Blues.

Track Listing

1. Blues Before Sunrise
2. Hole In My Soul
3. Wake Up Dead
4. Love Is A Mean Old World
5. Snatch It Back and Hold It – Hold It Back – Snatch It Back and Hold It
6. Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City
7. (Brother Bill) Last Clean Shirt
8. Make It Rain
9. Heavy Load
10. Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody’s Home
11. If Heartaches Were Nickels
12. I Asked Her For Water (She Gave Me Gasoline)
13. Black Horizon

Deluxe Version bonus tracks

1. Hiding Place
2. You Know My Love
3. Street Corner Talking
4. Have Mercy On The Criminal
5. Long Distance Call
6. Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody’s Home (Extended Version)
7. Need Your Love So Bad (Live)
8. Good Morning Little School Girl with Hook Herrera (Live)

Ook op Blues Magazine ...