Glen Hansard’s “Didn’t He Ramble” Out Now Via ANTI-Records


Didn’t He Ramble, the second solo outing from acclaimed Irish singer-songwriterGlen Hansard, is out now via Anti- Records.

Watch a behind the scenes video featuring the song ”Her Mercy” here:

Much of the clip was filmed in Chicago at Wilco’s Studio The Loft, where the first recording session of Didn’t He Ramble was held. Director Myles O’Reilly was on hand to capture the energy in the room.

Didn’t He Ramble continues to receive critical acclaim:
“A triumphant second solo chapter.” –  Mojo

“The central ingredient remains Hansard’s worn but wonderfully flexible voice, which sounds as kind and expressive as ever, with warmth to match
the songs he sings.”
NPR Music

 “Didn’t He Ramble evokes a feeling similar to one of Van Morrison’s Celtic-soul fever dreams, burnishing the prevailing sense of romantic fatalism with some low-key bravado on the standout track ‘Winning Streak’ (a kissing cousin to Bob Dylan’s early-Seventies’ chestnut ‘Forever Young’).” Rolling Stone

“No matter how you know him, Hansard sings to you like you’re worth knowing.”— American Songwriter
Glen Hansard will be touring in support of Didn’t He Ramble this Fall. Please find the full list of European/UK dates below.

Didn’t He Ramble was produced by Thomas Bartlett (The National, Sufjan Stevens), a frequent collaborator of Hansard’s, and Grammy winner and former Frames band-mate David Odlum (Paloma Faith, Tinariwen). The album, which was recorded in New York, Dublin, Chicago and France, is Hansard’s most intimate and elegant record since his work in Once and features guest appearances by John Sheahan (Dubliners), Sam Beam (Iron and Wine) and Sam Amidon.

Glen Hansard is the celebrated principal songwriter and vocalist/guitarist for the influential Irish group The Frames. Whether busking the streets of Dublin, where he got his start, or headlining a gig, Hansard has garnered a reputation as an unparalleled frontman. Hansard is also one half of the acclaimed duo The Swell Season. In 2007, he and Czech songstress Markéta Irglová took home the Academy Award for Best Original Song for “Falling Slowly” off the Oncesoundtrack. In 2013, the Broadway adaptation, Once, The Musical, won eight Tony Awards including the top musical prize itself. His debut solo album Rhythm & Repose was released in 2012.

Glen Hansard - Didnt He RambleGlen Hansard Tour Dates
29 Sep – Paris (FR) – La Cigale
30 Sep – Brussels (BE) – Ancienne Belgique
02 Oct – Stockholm (SE) – Nalen
03 Oct – Aarhus (DK) – Train
05 Oct – Copenhagen (DK) – Amager Bio
07 Oct – Hamburg (DE) – Docks
08 Oct – Berlin (DE) – Admiralpalast
10 Oct – Leipzig (DE) – Taebchenthal – SOLD OUT
12 Oct – Cologne (DE) – Live Music Hall
13 Oct – Zürich (CH) – Volkshaus
14 Oct – Milan (IT) – Alcatraz
16 Oct – Bologna (IT) – Teatro Antoniano – SOLD OUT
17 Oct – Vienna (AT) – Konzerthaus – SOLD OUT
19 Oct – Munich (DE) – Kesselhaus
20 Oct – Amsterdam (NL) – Melkweg – SOLD OUT
21 Oct – London (UK) – O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire – SOLD OUT

For more information:

Ook op Blues Magazine ...