A scorching new blues-rock album pairing six new studio recordings with six classic fan favorites, including three popular tracks that were previously out-of-print in the U.S. The Dirty Dozen features Thorogood’s signature blues-rockvocals and guitar playing on 12 songs, many of which were written by a who’s-who of American blues legends, including Muddy Waters, Bo Diddley, “Sleepy” John Estes, Chuck Berry, Howlin’ Wolf, and Willie Dixon.
Launching the new recordings on Side One is Willie Dixon’s swaggering “Tail Dragger,” vividly illustrated by Thorogood’s vocals and guitar, followed by his new take on John Hammond’s version of “Sleepy” John Estes’“Drop Down Mama,” a rocking jam that’s driven by Thorogood’s muscular guitar playing. Also on Side One are Thorogood’s new recordings of Muddy Waters’ “Born Lover,” Bo Diddley’s “Let Me Pass,” “Twenty Dollar Gig,” by Mickey Bones, and The Holmes Brothers’ “Run Myself Out Of Town.”

Side Two’s fan favorites open with Thorogood’s previously out-of-print guitar and sax-propelled take on Willie Dixon and Howlin’ Wolf’s “Howlin’ For My Baby,” followed by Howlin’ Wolf’s “Highway 49,” a bona fide juke joint roof-raiser loaded with slide-laden guitar riffs. Side Two also features two other previously out-of-print tracks: Chuck Berry’s “Hello Little Girl” and country standard “Six Days On The Road.” “Treat Her Right” and “Blue Highway” are also included.
“It feels like a homecoming for me, to be back with Capitol/EMI for The Dirty Dozen,” says Thorogood. “This album is also a homecoming of sorts for us – it’s a real rocker, full of songs we’ve always loved playing, including some that our fans have told us they like a lot but haven’t been available for a while”.


George Thorogood – “The Dirty Dozen”
Format: CD | Label: Capitol/EMI | Release date: July 2009


01. Tail Dragger
02. Drop Down Mama
03. Run Myself Out Of Town
04. Born Lover
05. Twenty Dollar Gig
06. Let Me Pass
07. Howlin’ For My Baby
08. Highway 49
09. Six Days On The Road
10. Treat Her Right (Edit)
11. Hello Little Girl
12. Blue Highway

Website George Thorogood : www.georgethorogood.com

Ook op Blues Magazine ...