Eric Bibb
Migration Blues

Eric Bibb is one of the most respected blues singer/songwriters of our time. His music is always reverent, keeping one foot in the blues and folk storytelling traditions. “Whether you’re looking at a former sharecropper, hitchhiking from Clarksdale to Chicago in 1923, or an orphan from Aleppo, in a boat full of refugees in 2016 – it’s migration blues,” Eric says about his new release, Migration Blues. Mainly composed of new tunes, Migration Blues also includes covers of Bob Dylan’s “Masters of War” and Woody Guthrie’s “This Land Is Your Land.” An arrangement of the traditional “Mornin’ Train,” closes the opus. Eric Bibb’s career spans five decades, 37 albums, countless radio & TV shows and non-stop tours, making him one of the leading bluesmen of his generation.

eric bibb Migration Blues

With Migration Blues eric Bibb reminds us that if we look at the history of the world we discover that we all have migrants among our ancestors. Eric also draws a parallel between the former African American sharecroppers leavind the brutal segregation and economic misery of the rural South for the industrial cities of the North and the current migratory movement to Europe of the refugees from the war-torn countries of the Middle East and Africa World.

Migration Blues will certainly be considered one of Eric Bibb’s major albums due to the high quality of the songwriting, the raw emotion delivered by Eric’s voice, the richness of the orchestration (despite the sobriety) and the seriousness and topicality of its main theme.

> Bestel album: Eric Bibb – Migration Blues <

Eric Bibb – Migration Blues

Label: Stony Plain Records / Dixiefrog
Release date: 31 March 2017


1: Refugee moan 3:06
2: Delta getaway 2:38
3: Diego’s blues 3:42
4: Prayin’ for shore 4:04
5: Migration blues 3:08
6: Four years, no rain 2:36
7: We had to move 3:10
8: Masters of war 3:19
9: Brotherly love 4:12
10: La vie c’estcomme un oignon 2:39
11: With a dolla’ in my pocket 3:52
12: This land is your land 3:17
13: Postcard from booker 0:51
14: Blacktop 3:56
15: Mornin’ train 3:35

Eric Bibb (vocals, guitar) , JJ Milteau (harmonica) , Michael Jerome Brown (guitar, fiddle, banjo) , …

Ook op Blues Magazine ...