Dr. John To Release “Locked Down” On Nonesuch Records April 3
Album Produced By The Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach

Storied musician and Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Dr. John–Mac Rebennack–will release LOCKED DOWN, a startling album that marks a significant departure from his recent efforts, on April 3, 2012. The new album, produced by The Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach, will be Dr. John’s first for Nonesuch Records.

It’s an entirely new approach for the iconic Dr. John, featuring as it does his collaboration with Auerbach and a band of young musicians Auerbach hand-picked to make LOCKED DOWN at his studio Easy Eye Sound in Nashville. “It was way cool cutting this record with Dan and the crew he put together for it,” says Rebennack. “It’s reel HIP.

For his part, Auerbach–who currently is preparing for a worldwide tour in support of The Black Keys’ new album “El Camino”–says about the collaboration: “Mac inspired me every single day we were in the studio together – musically, spiritually, cosmically…something special seemed to be happening and everyone involved could sense it. For my money, Mac’s one of the greatest who ever was and who ever will be…I’m so honored to have had this opportunity to work with him.”

Auerbach, a long-time fan of the influential musician dubbed “the Night Tripper” in the late 60s, visited Dr. John late in 2010 in his hometown New Orleans, announcing his ambition to produce “the best record you’ve made in a long time.” Rebennack replied that he had done his research–his children had told him good things about The Black Keys–and the conversation led to an agreement to collaborate on the 2011 Bonnaroo Jam being curated by Auerbach.

That performance–called by NY Times critic Ben Ratliff in his best-of-the-year list “deep and oozy, close-to-the-vest, low-frequency funk” –confirmed that something unusual was taking place and led to September recording sessions in Nashville. Dr. John returned to Nashville at Thanksgiving to complete the vocals and LOCKED DOWN was mixed by Auerbach and completed in early 2012.

Dr. John - Locked Down

Dr. John – Locked Down
Label: Nonesuch Records / Release: 3 April 2012

Track Listing
1 Locked Down
2 Revolution
3 Big Shot
4 Ice Age
5 Getaway
6 Kingdom of Izzness
7 You Lie
8 Eleggua
9 My Children, My Angels
10 God’s So Good

Dr. John, keyboards, lead vocals
Dan Auerbach, guitar, percussion, background vocals
Max Weissenfeldt, drums, percussion, background vocals
Leon Michels, keyboards, percussion, woodwinds, background vocals
Nick Movshon, electric and upright bass, percussion, background vocals
Brian Olive, guitar, percussion, woodwinds, background vocals
The McCrary Sisters (Regina, Ann & Alfreda), background vocals

Ook op Blues Magazine ...