Donna Grantis Electric Band – Suites

Format: CD / Label:Diamond Gem Records/ January 17th, 2012

Free track download available  at
Canadian fusion guitar goddess Donna Grantis is set to release her debut album, Suites, on January 17th,
2012 (Diamond Gem Records). *The album will be available worldwide at

Rooted in blues with a soul-jazz influence and classic rock attitude, the Donna Grantis Electric Band is a psychedelic trio, heavy on improvisation with a passion for all things vintage. Inspired by artists ranging from Bill Frisell to Billy Cobham and Jeff Beck to Jimi Hendrix, the Electric Band delivers an emotive and energetic performance full of hard-hitting grooves and ambient soundscapes.

The group’s debut album, Suites, is a concept record featuring two suites of original instrumental music named after Donna’s beloved PRS guitars: Elektra and Starla.

As a session musician based out ofToronto, Donna has collaborated with many artists as a writer and performer, both live and in the studio.

She has shared the stage with a diverse range of talented musicians, including Juno award winning artists Amanda Marshall (pop), Kardinal Offishall (hip hop), Divine Brown (RnB), Haydain Neal (soul) and Kellylee Evans (jazz). Donna has had a consistent international touring schedule with performances in Singapore, Australia, the UK, and throughout Europe, Canadaand the UnitesStates. She performs regularly with Shakura S’Aida  (2011 Maple Blues Vocalist of the Year and Indie’s Blues Artist of the Year), soul-rock songstress Saidah Baba Talibah (described as Living Color meets Erykah Badu) and Hill & The Sky Heroes (an Alien Surf Rock group).

Donna is the guitarist and musical director of the annual Women’s Blues Revue at Massey Hall

Donna proudly plays PRS guitars. She uses D’Addario EXL115 Jazz-Rock Strings; Planet Waves cables and accessories, Steve Clayton teardrop shaped 1.14mm, delrin guitar picks; and Traynor amps.


Track Listing

Elektra Suite

[22:15] 1. Elektra Prelude 0:49
2. Elektra 4:00
3. Ode To Aja 7:30
4. Isabella The Great (Part I) 7:30
5. Isabella The Great (Part II) 2:26

Starla Suite [23:50] 6. Gold Dust Vixen 6:05
7. Gold Dust Reprise 1:22
8. My Purple Heart 6:24
9. Cosmic Jam 5:32
10. Kid’s Got Moxie 4:27

All songs composed by Donna Grantis.
Produced by Donna Grantis and Brent Bodrug.

Donna Grantis Electric Band:
Donna Grantis: Guitar and Special Effects
Roger Travassos: Drums
Steve Zsirai: Bass

contact: [email protected]
Management contact:
Trevor Guy
Last Gang Entertainment
[email protected]

Ook op Blues Magazine ...