CREAM : 1966 – 1972 vinylbox

USM are proud to present Cream: 1966 – 1972, Cream’s studio and live LPs brought together in a boxed set for the first time. Each LP will have exact reproductions of original artwork to retain authenticity, and will be pressed 180 gram heavyweight audiophile vinyl and contained in a rigid slipcase box.

Cream were a 1960s British rock supergroup power trio consisting of bassist/singer Jack Bruce, drummer Ginger Baker, and guitarist/singer Eric Clapton. Their sound was characterised by a hybrid of blues rock, hard rock and psychedelic rock, combining psychedelia-themed lyrics, Eric Clapton’s blues guitar playing, Jack Bruce’s operatic voice and prominent bass playing and Ginger Baker’s jazz-influenced drumming.

Released on November 24, the collection is titled ‘Cream: 1966-1972,’ as it extends beyond the group’s two years of active recording between the summer of 1966 and late 1968 (and the albums ‘Fresh Cream’ from ’66, 1967′s ‘Disraeli Gears’, 1968′s ‘Wheels Of Fire’ and the swansong ‘Goodbye’, released early in 1969) to the two albums of concert material released after the band’s split, 1970’s ‘Live Cream’ and 1972’s ‘Live Cream Volume 2.’ Each of these live sets recorded at performances by the band in San Francisco in 1968.

The set will admirably showcase the brilliantly inventive interaction between Eric Clapton, Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker on such staple recordings as ‘Crossroads, ‘Spoonful,’ ‘Strange Brew,’ ‘White Room, ‘I’m So Glad’ and ‘Sitting On Top Of The World.’ The latter two tracks were part of 1968’s ‘Wheels Of Fire,’ which be came the first platinum-selling double album in the world.

The band’s combination of blues and jazz influences in a rock framework made them music’s first power trio, with an extraordinary influence stretching far beyond their brief time together and up to the present day. Cream’s worldwide album sales are estimated at some 15 million.

CREAM : 1966 – 1972

Format: Vinyl Box Set
Label: Universal
Release Date 24 November 2014


LP1: Fresh Cream (1966)
A1. N.S.U.
A2. Sleepy Time Time
A3. Dreaming
A4. Sweet Wine
A5. Spoonful
B1. Cat’s Squirrel
B2. Four Until Late
B3. Rollin’ And Tumblin’
B4. I’m So Glad
B5. Toad

LP2: Disraeli Gears (1967)
A1. Strange Brew
A2. Sunshine Of Your Love
A3. World Of Pain
A4. Dance The Night Away
A5. Blue Condition
B1. Tales Of Brave Ulysses
B3. We’re Going Wrong
B4. Outside Woman Blues
B5. Take It Back
B6. Mother’s Lament

LP3: Wheels Of Fire (1968)
A1. White Room
A2. Sitting On Top Of The World
A3. Passing The Time
A4. As You Said
B1. Pressed Rat And Warthog
B2. Politician
B3. Those Were The Days
B4. Born Under A Bad Sign
B5. Deserted Cities Of The Heart
C1. Crossroads – Live At The Fillmore
C2. Spoonful – Live At The Fillmore
D1. Traintime – Live At The Fillmore
D2. Toad – Live At The Fillmore

LP4: Goodbye (1969)
A1. I’m So Glad
A2. Politician
B1. Sitting On Top Of The World
B2. Badge
B3. Doing That Scrapyard Thing
B4. What A Bringdown

LP5: Live Cream (1970)
A1. N.S.U.
A2. Sleepy Time Time
A3. Lawdy Mama
B1. Sweet Wine
B2. Rollin’ And Tumblin’

LP6: Live Cream Volume II (1972)
A1. Deserted Cities Of The Heart
A2. White Room
A3. Politician
A4. Tales Of Brave Ulysses
B1. Sunshine Of Your Love
B2. Hideaway

Ook op Blues Magazine ...