Coco Montoya “Hard Truth” with guest Leroy Parnell

The old Willie Dixon adage, “blues is truth,” perfectly describes the searing, passionate contemporary blues-rock of world-renowned guitarist and vocalist Coco Montoya. Taught by the “Master of the Telecaster,” Albert Collins, but with a hard-edged sound and style all his own, Montoya mixes his forceful, melodic guitar playing and passionate vocals with memorable songs, delivering the blues’ hardest truths.

He earned his status as a master guitarist and soul-powered vocalist through years paying his dues as a sideman with Collins (first as a drummer) and then with John Mayall’s Blues Breakers, before launching his solo career in 1993. Five years of constant touring with Collins and 10 years with Mayall turned him into a monster player and dynamic performer.

Montoya has released eight solo albums – including three for Alligator between 2000 and 2007 – and has played at clubs, concert halls and major festivals all over the world. Returning to Alligator with his new album, Hard Truth, Montoya delivers 11 career-topping performances, the music immediately ranking among the best he’s ever recorded.

Produced by drummer Tony Braunagel (Eric Burdon, Curtis Salgado, Taj Mahal, Bonnie Raitt), the album features 11 songs, each delivering a hard truth of its own. From the radio-friendly, gospel-inspired shout-out to love, I Want To Shout About It, to the haunting Devil Don’t Sleep to the icy-hot cover of Albert Collins’ The Moon Is Full, Hard Truth covers a lot of emotional ground. Montoya’s unpredictable guitar playing and smoking soul vocals blend effortlessly with a backing band featuring renowned musicians including bassist Bob Glaub (Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen, Jerry Lee Lewis), keyboardist Mike Finnigan (Jimi Hendrix, Etta James, Taj Mahal), guitarists Billy Watts (Eric Burdon) and Johnny Lee Schell (Bonnie Raitt), and Braunagel on drums. Slide guitar master Leroy Parnell guests on Lost In The Bottle.

Coco Montoya Hard Truth

Coco Montoya – Hard Truth

Label: Alligator Records
Release date: 24 March 2017
Koop bij


1. Before The Bullets Fly
2. I Want To Shout About It
3. Lost In The Bottle feat. Leroy Parnell
4. Old Habits Are Hard To Break
5. I’ll Find Someone Who Will
6. Devil Don’t Sleep
7. The Moon Is Full
8. Hard As Hell
9. ‘Bout To Make Me Leave Home
10. Where Can A Man Go From Here?
11. Truth Be Told

“Stratocaster-fueled, fierce slash-and-burn guitar work…dramatic, smoldering Southern soul-rooted intensity. Montoya’s voice is as expressive as his guitar.” —Washington Post

“Montoya is a show-stopper…Heartfelt singing and merciless guitar with a wicked icy burn…he swings like a jazz man and stings like the Iceman, Albert Collins. He is one of the truly gifted blues artists of his generation.” —Living Blues