Laatste album Bobby Charles (R.I.P.) “Timeless” met niet eerder uitgebracht materiaal!

Op deze laatste cd geproduceerd door Dr. John (co-producer) met Bobby Charles speelt naast Dr.John (piano, B3 organ and Wurlitzer) Sonny Landreth de lead guitar. Verdere medewerking verleenden onder meer ook gerenommeerde muzikanten als Derek Trucks en Jon Cleary(piano) en Beth McKee hun medewerking.

De CD is door Bobby Charles opgedragen aan zijn muzikale inspiratie Fats Domino.

Bobby Charles overleed op 14 januari jl. en heeft helaas het het uiteindelijk resultaat niet in zijn handen kunnen houden. Maar kon nog wel de definitieve CD ontwerp voor de CD goed keuren.

Mark Harmsma heeft een mooi “In Memoriam: Bobby Charles (1938 – 2010)” geschreven over deze begenadigd singer-songwriter en pionier van de Louisiana Swamp.

Bobby Charles - Timeless (CD) - front

Bobby Charles – “Timeless”
CD | Label: Rice ‘N’ Gravy Records| Genre: Americana/R&B/Blues
Release Date: February 23, 2010

Bobby Charles’s all consuming passion the last several months was focused on completing this album project dedicated to his musical inspiration Fats Domino and co-produced with his longtime friend Mac Rebenneck (Dr. John) who played on Charles’s 70’s classic debut album self titled Bobby Charles. That album included his classic “Before I Grow Too Old,” a new rendition of the song is included here. Fats Domino originally recorded the song after his success with Charles’s “Walking To New Orleans.” Thanks to that focus we are beneficiaries of “Timeless,” arguably the pinnacle of Charles’s recording career. There are new songs here that will stand the test of time, as have his perennial songs “See You Later Alligator,” “Walking To New Orleans,” “(I Don’t Know Why I Love You) But I Do,” and “The Jealous Kind.”

Charles passed away Thursday, January 14th, before he could hold the final product in his hand, but he lived to approve the final artwork for the CD package along with every other important necessary detail. “Timeless” is a collection of new recordings of new originals, a few older ones he waited a long time to record, a song he wrote in support of Barack Obama’s presidential campaign, and the inclusion of his previously released “Happy Birthday Fats Domino.” This he did in tribute to Domino who Charles called “a great friend, a great artist, and a great inspiration.”

01. Happy Birthday Fats Domino 4:27
02. Where Did All The Love Go 4:45
03. Nickles, Dimes And Dollars 3:14
04. Clash Of Cultures 4:02
05. Little Town Tramp 5:05
06. Nobody’s Fault But My Own 2:42
07. Before I Grow Too Old 3:27
08. Old Mexico 2:46
09. Rollin’ Round Heaven 4:22
10. When Love Turns To Hate 3:38
11. Take Back My Country 3:48
12. You’ll Always Live Inside Of Me 4:18
13. Happy Halloween 4:48

Produced by Bobby Charles and Dr. John
Recorded at Dockside Studios, Maurice, LA by Tony Daigle, except tracks 1, 3, and 4 recorded by David Farrell
All songs mixed and mastered by David Farrell
All songs written by Bobby Charles, published by Music Patch (BMI) except #5, published by Street People (BMI); #7 written by R. Guidry/A. Domino/D. Bartholomew, published by EMI UNART Catalog, Inc. (BMI); #8 published by Rice and Gravy Music (BMI); #12, written by Bobby Charles and David Allan Coe, published by Rice and Gravy Music (BMI)/Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. (BMI)

Bobby Charles: Vocals
Mac Rebennack (Dr. John): piano,B3 organ and Wurlitzer
Sonny Landreth: lead guitar
David Hyde: bass guitar
Chris Leblanc: rhythm acoustic guitar
Mike Burch: drums
Mickey Raphael: harmonica
Erica Falls, Lisa Foster and Elaine Foster:
background vocals
Graphic design: Cheryl Craig/CM Designs
Photography: Cezanne Nails/Dockside Studios
Matt Schlenker
David Farrell

Jon Cleary: piano – track 1
Derek Trucks: lead guitar – track 1
Sam Broussard: rhythm acoustic guitar – track 1
David Peters: drums – track 1
Jimmy Webber: trumpet – track 1
Barney Floyd: trumpet – track 1
Eric Traub: tenor sax – track 1
Don Suhor: clarinet – track 1
Brian O’Neill: trombone – track 1
David Egan: piano – tracks 3, 4
Gerry McGee: lead guitar – tracks 2, 7, 8 , 12.
Keenan Knight: rhythm acoustic guitar – tracks 3 , 4.
Jon Smith: tenor sax – track 7
Bobby Campo: trumpet – track 8
Sonny Landreth: background vocal – track 11
Beth McKee: background vocal – track 12 and voice tag – track 8

Bobby Charles - Timeless (CD) - inlay

Ook op Blues Magazine ...