Dylan had been asked by the French film director Olivier Dahan, who made the Edith Piaf biopic, La Vie En Rose, which Dylan had apparently liked, to write some songs for his new movie, My Own Love Song. Dylan duly came up with a ballad called “Life Is Hard”, and was so inspired the next thing anyone knew he’d written nine more new songs and not long after that – bingo! – here’s Together Through Life in all its rowdy glory.
What’s it sound like? Well, early reports have hinted at a mix of Dylan’s beloved Chicago blues and the loping border country feel of, say, “Girl From The Red River Shore”, the latter courtesy of Los Lobos’ David Hidalgo, whose accordion features on every track, alongside Dylan’s formidable current touring band and as yet unidentified guest musicians.

Due on April 27th, 2009. From the Mojo web site… “MOJO heard seven of what may turn out to be ten or eleven Bob Dylan originals to be released by Columbia Records…” Click here for more and, Uncut Hears The New Bob Dylan Album “On first listen, then, a great album that when it comes out and goes on repeat will get better and better” More here.
Bob Dylan’s ‘Together Throught Life’ will be availabe in the following formats: 1 CD, 2 x vinyl LP set, and a limited edition 2CD + DVD version which contains bonus CD of Bob Dylan’s “Theme Time Radio Hour” (“Friends & Neighbors” episode) and a DVD of “Roy Silver – The Lost Interview”.


Bob Dylan – ‘Together Through Life’
CD / Vinyl / 2CD+DVD | Label: Columbia | Release: 27 April 2009

Track Listings

Disc: 1
1. Beyond Here Lies Nothin’
2. Life Is Hard
3. My Wife’s Home Town
4. If You Ever Go To Houston
5. Forgetful Heart
6. Jolene
7. This Dream Of You
8. Shake Shake Mama
9. I Feel A Change Comin’ On
10. It’s All Good

Disc: 2
1. Howdy Neighbor (J. Morris) – Porter Wagoner & The Wagonmasters
2. Don’t Take Everybody To Be Your Friend (M.Gabler/R. Tharpe) – Sister Rosetta Tharpe
3. Diamonds Are A Girl’s Best Friend (L. Robin/J. Styne) – T Bone Burnett
4. La Valse De Amitie (O. Guidry) – Doc Guidry
5. Make Friends (E. Mcgraw) – Moon Mulligan
6. My Next Door Neighbor (J. McCain) – Jerry McCain
7. Let’s Invite Them Over (O. Wheeler) – George Jones & Melba Montgomery
8. My Friends (C. Burnett/S. Ling) – Howlin’ Wolf
9. Last Night (W. Jones) – Little Walter
10. You’ve Got a Friend (C. King) – Carole King
11. Bad Neighborhood (Caronna/M. Rebennack) – Ronnie & The Delinquents
12. Neighbours (M. Jagger/K. Richards) – The Rolling Stones
13. Too Many Parties and Too Many Pals (B. Rose/M. Dixon/R. Henderson) – Hank Williams as Luke the Drifter
14. Why Can’t We Be Friends (S. Allen/H. Brown/M. Dickerson/J. Goldstein/L. Jordan /C. Miller/H. Scott/L. Oskar) – War

Disc: 3
1. Roy Silver – The Lost Interview (DVD)

Ook op Blues Magazine ...