blues music awards 2022

The full list of winners for the 2022 Blues Music Awards.

B.B. King Entertainer of the Year
WINNER: Tommy Castro

Eric Gales
Mr. Sipp (Castro Coleman)
J.P. Soars
Sugaray Rayford

Album of the Year
WINNER: Tommy Castro Presents a Bluesman Came to Town, Tommy Castro

Holler If You Hear Me, Altered Five Blues Band
Not In My Lifetime, Wee Willie Walker & The Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra
Pinky’s Blues, Sue Foley
Raisin’ Cain, Chris Cain

Band of the Year
WINNER: Tommy Castro & The Painkillers

Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra
J.P. Soars and the Red Hots
Lil’ Ed & the Blues Imperials
Sugaray Rayford Band

Tommy Castro @ Holland International Blues Festival 2018 Grolloo
Tommy Castro // Photography: Marco van Rooijen

Song of the Year
WINNER: “I’d Climb Mountains,” written & performed by Selwyn Birchwood

“Fragile Peace and Certain War”, written by Dave Alvin (performed by Carolyn Wonderland)
“Holler If You Hear Me”, written by Jeff Schroedl & Mark Solveson (performed by Altered Five Blues Band)
“Real Good Lie”, written by Christine Vitale, Larry Batiste, Anthony Paule (performed by Wee Willie Walker & The Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra)
“Somewhere”, written by Tommy Castro & Tom Hambridge (performed by Tommy Castro & The Painkillers)

Best Emerging Artist Album
WINNER: Live on Beale Street: A Tribute to Bobby “Blue” Bland, Rodd Bland and the Members Only Band

GA-20 Does Hound Dog Taylor: Try It… You Might Like It!, GA-20
Just Say The Word, Gabe Stillman
Welcome To The Land, Memphissippi Sounds
You Ain’t Unlucky, Veronica Lewis

Acoustic Blues Album
WINNER: Dear America, Eric Bibb

Land of the Sky, Catfish Keith
Let’s Get Happy Together, Maria Muldaur
Let Loose These Chains, Hector Anchondo
The Trio Sessions, EG Kight

Blues Rock Album
WINNER: Resurrection, Mike Zito

Alafia Moon, Damon Fowler
Dance Songs For Hard Times, The Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band
Tinfoil Hat, Popa Chubby
Unemployed Highly Annoyed, Jeremiah Johnson

Contemporary Blues Album
WINNER: 662, Christone “Kingfish” Ingram

Damage Control, Curtis Salgado
Holler If You Hear Me, Altered Five Blues Band
Raisin’ Cain, Chris Cain
Tommy Castro Presents A Bluesman Came To Town, Tommy Castro

Soul Blues Album
WINNER: Long As I Got My Guitar, Zac Harmon

Let’s Have A Party, Gerald McClendon
Not In My Lifetime, Wee Willie Walker & The Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra
You Get What You Give: Duets, Dave Keller
You Gotta Have It, Tia Carroll

Traditional Blues Album
WINNER: Pinky’s Blues, Sue Foley

Be Ready When I Call You, Guy Davis
Bob Corritore & Friends: Spider In My Stew, Bob Corritore
Boogie w/ R.L. Boyce (Live), R.L. Boyce
Little Black Flies, Eddie 9V

Acoustic Blues Artist
WINNER: Keb’ Mo’

Eric Bibb
Kevin Burt
Guy Davis
Doug MacLeod

Blues Rock Artist
WINNER: Albert Castiglia

Tommy Castro
Tinsley Ellis
Ana Popovic
Joanne Shaw Taylor

Contemporary Blues Female Artist
WINNER: Vanessa Collier

Thornetta Davis
Ruthie Foster
Danielle Nicole
Carolyn Wonderland

Contemporary Blues Male Artist
WINNER: Christone “Kingfish” Ingram

Selwyn Birchwood
Chris Cain
Kenny Neal
Mr. Sipp (Castro Coleman)

Soul Blues Female Artist
WINNER: Annika Chambers

Trudy Lynn
Terrie Odabi
Kat Riggins
Vaneese Thomas

Soul Blues Male Artist
WINNER: Curtis Salgado

William Bell
Don Bryant
John Nemeth
Johnny Rawls

Traditional Blues Female Artist (Koko Taylor Award)
WINNER: Sue Foley

Rory Block
Rhiannon Giddens
Diunna Greenleaf
EG Kight

Traditional Blues Male Artist
WINNER: Taj Mahal

Cedric Burnside
Super Chikan
Sugar Ray Norcia
Jontavious Willis

Instrumentalist – Bass
WINNER: Danielle Nicole

Willie J. Campbell
Larry Fulcher
Jerry Jemmott
Scot Sutherland

Instrumentalist – Drums
WINNER: Tom Hambridge

Danny Banks
June Core
Derrick D’Mar Martin
Chris Peet

Instrumentalist – Guitar
WINNER: Eric Gales

Christoffer “Kid” Andersen
Chris Cain
Laura Chavez
Anson Funderburgh
J.P. Soars

Instrumentalist – Harmonica
WINNER: Jason Ricci

Billy Branch
Bob Corritore
Brandon Santini
Kim Wilson

Instrumentalist – Horn
WINNER: Jimmy Carpenter

Mindi Abair
Marc Franklin
Regi Oliver
Nancy Wright

Instrumentalist – Piano (Pinetop Perkins Piano Player Award)
WINNER: Mike Finnigan

Eden Brent
Dave Keyes
Veronica Lewis
Jim Pugh

Instrumentalist – Vocals
WINNER: John Nemeth

Thornetta Davis
Ruthie Foster
Sugaray Rayford
Curtis Salgado

Ook op Blues Magazine ...