blues-music-awards-2013The Blues Foundation held the organization’s 34th annual Blues Music Awards on Thursday, May 9th, 2013 in Memphis, Tennessee.
The big winners this year are … Curtis Salgado, the late Michael Burks, Susan Tedeschi and Derek Trucks, Janiva Magness and Tab Benoit.
Below the complete list. Congratulations to all of this year’s Blues Music Award winners!

And the Winners Are …

Traditional Blues Album: Double Dynamite – The Mannish Boys

Instrumentalist-Bass: Bob Stroger

DVD: Eagle Rock Entertainment – Muddy Waters & Rolling Stones, Live at Checkerboard Lounge

Instrumentalist-Horn: Eddie Shaw

Soul Blues Female Artist: Irma Thomas

Acoustic Artist: Eric Bibb

Traditional Blues Male Artist: Magic Slim

Acoustic Album: Not Alone – Ann Rabson w/ Bob Margolin

Contemporary Blues Album: Show of Strength – Michael Burks

Gibson Guitar: Derek Trucks

Rock Blues Album: Everybody’s Talkin’ – Tedeschi Trucks Band

Band: Tedeschi Trucks Band

Instrumentalist-Harmonica: Rick Estrin

Instrumentalist-Drums: Cedric Burnside

Soul Blues Male Artist: Curtis Salgado

Pinetop Perkins Piano Player: Victor Wainwright

Contemporary Blues Male Artist: Tab Benoit

Historical: Bear Family Records for Plug It In! Turn It Up! Electric Blues by Various Artists

Soul Blues Album: Soul Shot – Curtis Salgado

Best New Artist Debut: They Call Me Big Llou – Big LLou Johnson

Contemporary Blues Female Artist: Janiva Magness

Koko Taylor Award (Traditional Blues Female): Ruthie Foster

Album: Show of Strength – Michael Burks

Song: “I Won’t Cry” written by Janiva Magness & Dave Darling – Stronger For It (Janiva Magness)

B.B King Entertainer: Curtis Salgado

Ook op Blues Magazine ...