Nieuw album Bettye LaVette en Paradiso show!

Nieuw studio album van de legendarische, Grammy genomineerde Amerikaanse zangeres Bettye LaVette Geproduceerd door Joe Henry.
Leverbaar als CD en een gelimiteerde editie met CD + DVD van haar concert in The Jazz Cafe in Londen in juli 2014.

Live: Paradiso – Amsterdam 17 maart 2015


Bettye LaVette is a true legend with a musical career spanning over 50 years, she is now rightly recognized as one of the finest vocalists and one of the great interpreters of song. In Bettye’s amazing career she has performed for Barack Obama at his 2009 Presidential inauguration, (duetting with Jon Bon Jovi) and sang a moving interpretation of “Love Reign O’er Me” at the Kennedy Center Honors tribute to The Who (which brought Pete Townshend to tears and stunned Roger Daltrey). Her discography spans five decades, but it is within the past decade that she
has finally been recognized as one of America’s finest vocal talents.

In 2005 she recorded the album I’ve Got My Own Hell to Raise, which was produced by Grammy nominated producer Joe Henry, (hailed as one of the best albums of the year by many critics). Joe Henry now reflects; “I’ve Got My Own Hell To Raise confirmed Bettye’s standing as a soul and blues singer nearly without peer, and evidenced for many what had for so long been hidden in plain sight. No matter the public perception, Bettye refused the term “comeback,” of course, in regard to her newfound recognition, owing to the simple fact that she had gone nowhere from which returning was necessary: she’d been here all along”. Two more fine albums followed, both of which were nominated for Grammy Awards: The Scene Of The Crime in 2007 and Interpretations: The British Rock Songbook in 2010.

Now, after almost a decade, the legend that is Bettye LaVette has teamed up with producer Joe Henry once again and the result is a stunning new album, Worthy, featuring 11 songs composed by writers such as Mick Jagger & Keith Richards, Bob Dylan, John Lennon & Paul McCartney, Mickey Newbury, Beth Nielsen Chapman & Mary Gauthier (who wrote the album title track) and Joe Henry among others.
As Joe Henry states; “With every song on Worthy, Bettye finds the thread that first will unravel it. Then she stitches it all back together until it fits her taut frame and fierce stride, until it bends to meet her; until each song’s story is somehow, miraculously, telling her own”. Worthy is a supreme achievement from a uniquely gifted performer.

On Worthy, Bettye revisits Dylan with the opening track “Unbelievable,” with a funky urgency introduced into the song, not present in the original. On “When I Was a Young Girl,” she slides effortlessly into a slinky groove which Chris Youlden of Savoy Brown probably never imagined. “Bless Us All” is as relevant now as when Mickey Newbury wrote it decades ago, while her rendition of Joe Henry’s own “Stop” is jazzy, soulful and reminds one not to dare try to stop her. The musicians on the album all brought their A-game to the plate: Jay Bellerose on drums and percussion, Doyle Bramall II on guitar, Chris Bruce on bass and Patrick Warren on Piano, Hammond organ and Chamberlin.

Worthy is comprised of a special selection of songs making for an extremely reflective, visceral, yet at the same time, vulnerable album. “Where a Life Goes” is a conversation between Bettye and her deceased sister. When she sings the Lennon/McCartney track “Wait” and the title track “Worthy,” Bettye is at her most insightful and satisfied. Perhaps, the most heart-wrenching tunes of the lot may be “Undamned” filled with quiet desperation, and “Just Between You and Me and the Wall You’re a Fool,” on which she wears her tattered and battered heart on her sleeve.

Bettye had this to say about her new album:
“I am extremely satisfied with this recording and I am anxiously awaiting its release… and I hope somebody agrees with me. lol”

Bettye LaVette

Label: Cherry Red Records
Release: 26 January 2015


1. Unbelievable (Bob Dylan)
2. When I Was A Young Girl (Chris Youlden)
3. Bless Us All (Mickey Newbury)
4. Stop (Joseph Lee Henry)
5. Undamned (Linford Detweiler)
6. Complicated (Mick Jagger, Keith Richards)
7. Where A Life Goes (Randall Bramblett)
8. Just Between You And Me And The Wall You’re a…
9. Wait (John LennonPaul McCartney)
10. Step Away (Christine Santelli, Brian Mitchell)
11. Worthy (Beth Nielsen Chapman, Mary Gauthier)

Bettye will be world premiering selections from Worthy at the renowned Café Carlyle in New York City starting January 27-31 and again February 3-7 (celebrating her 69th birthday at the show on the 29th). The prestigious residency kicks off a 4 month promotional tour of North America, the UK, and Europe, including stops in Chicago, Los Angeles, San Francisco, London, Paris, and Amsterdam.

Ook op Blues Magazine ...