Bettye LaVette album cover LaVette!

Legendary soul singer Bettye LaVette has released a new album, the follow-up to 2020’s Blackbirds. It’s titled LaVette!, and the singer chose to cover songs that were written by Randall Bramblett, the Georgia musician who has worked with Gregg Allmann, Bonnie Raitt, and many more in addition to putting out a whole lot of music of his won. “I think he’s the best songwriter I’ve heard in the past 30 years,” LaVette said of Bramblett.

LaVette once again worked with producer Steve Jordan on this album. “Bettye LaVette is like a combination of Frank Sinatra, Billie Holiday and Miles Davis,” Jordan noted in a statement.

The band this time around on her new album includes Pino Palladino on bass, Larry Campbell and Chris Bruce on guitars and Leon Pendarvis on keyboards.
A host of guests appear on the record, including blues icon John Mayer, Jon Batiste, Anthony Hamilton, esteemed British vocalist Steve Winwood, Ray Parker Jr., Rev. Charles Hodges, James Carter, and Pedrito Martinez.

Bettye LaVette – LaVette!

1. See Through Me (feat. Pedrito Martinez)
2. Don’t Get Me Started (feat. Steve Winwood)
3. Lazy (and I Know It)
4. Sooner Or Later (feat. Anthony Hamilton, Ray Parke
5. Plan B
6. Concrete Mind
7. In The Meantime (feat. John Mayer)
8. Mess About It (feat. Ray Parker Jr. & Jon Batiste)
9. Hard To Be A Human
10. I’m Not Gonna Waste My Love
11. It’s Alright



Ook op Blues Magazine ...